Frostbite Worthy Tomato Bisque with Sage and Swiss

LEVEL UP! +10 hp, +50 xp. You have learned FROSTBITE!

Against my better judgement, I somehow ended up biking in a snowstorm this past weekend. As a direct result, I’m still sick and have had the pleasure of eating salt (Campbell’s Soup) everytime I get sick. I decided I should start making my own versions of the soups I like to buy.

My hands were frozen, as were my ankles (I negected to wear socks because the snowstorm wasn’t supposed to happen until hours later). And my hair was literally ice/frozen. Having to be wrapped in a blanket by other people is always an interesting experience.

Anyway,  I present you a frostbite worthy bowl of Tomato Bisque.

Ingredients:
4 cups of chopped tomatoes
2 cups beef broth
1 tbsp white sugar
2 bay leaves
1 tsp chopped fresh basil
1 tsp black pepper
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup flour
6 cups heavy cream
2 cups chopped spinach
1 tbsp thyme
2 tbsp minced garlic
2 tsp powdered sage
1 cup shredded swiss cheese

1. Heat up 1 tsp butter in a medium saucepan and simmer garlic until fragrant
2. Add chopped tomatoes, beef broth, sugar, bay leaves, sage, thyme, bail and pepper to saucepan and let simmer, simmer, simmer for 45 minutes.
3. Using an immersion blender, puree the tomato mixture.
4. In a separate pot, create a roux from the rest of the butter and flour. Let cook for a minute or so, then slowly add in heavy cream. Add in the tomato base and let cook for 5-10 more minutes.
5. Add Spinach and let cook for 5 more minutes/before spinach loses color.
6. Add swiss cheese to taste.

Enjoy! (And keep warm!) ;)

About pickleandolive

My assistant Pickle and I live our lives to the fullest. Food, drinking, and meeting all you lovely weird people. You should too.
This entry was posted in IRL, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frostbite Worthy Tomato Bisque with Sage and Swiss

  1. Haha, I like the caption. This bisque looks extremely pretty and would serve me well right now.

Leave a Reply

