Comforting Blue Oatmeal

om nom nom!

I was looking for the cinnamon when making oatmeal when I found that I’d bought food coloring at some point and promptly forgot about it.

Feeling festive on account of the warm winter weather, I decided I’d settle on blue. I’d like to believe this somehow made it taste better.

And I love nothing more than for winter-themed foods to be as unhealthy (and delicious) as possible. Feel free to substitute Skim Milk for Heavy Cream or forego the butter altogether.

Comforting Blue Oatmeal
Serves One

1/2 cup of heavy cream
1 tbsp water
2 tbsp brown sugar
1/3 cup Old Wessex 5-grain Cereal (or regular oatmeal!)
1 tsp unsalted butter
1 tsp apple pie spice (or cinnamon/nutmeg/clove mix)
dash of salt
5 drops of blue food coloring (or whichever color you decide upon)

1. Combine heavy cream, water, brown sugar, spices and salt in a saucepan. Bring to medium heat.
2. Stir constantly until boiling, but don’t let the milk burn.
3. Add 5-grain cereal (oats) and cooking/stir for about 2 minutes.
4. Turn off the heat on the stove, add butter, cover, and let stand for 5 minutes.

Adjust milk for how thick/thin you like your hot cereals.

Enjoy 😉

About pickleandolive

My assistant Pickle and I live our lives to the fullest. Food, drinking, and meeting all you lovely weird people. You should too.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comforting Blue Oatmeal

  1. mindyqs says:

    Very clever. I wonder adding color will encourage my kids to try oatmeal?

Leave a Reply

